History and Evolution of ISO 9000

History and Evolution of ISO 9000

During World War II, there were quality issues in many European industries e.g. those of ammunitions, where bombs were exploding in factories. The solution adopted to address these quality problems required factories to document their procedures and to prove by record-keeping that the procedures were being followed according to the Allied Quality Assurance Programme (AQAP). After the war, the British government adopted this solution as BS 5750 in 1973. 

The base document to ISO 9000 was BS 5750, and it was known as a management standard because it specified not what to manufacture, but how the manufacturing process was to be managed. 

International Organization for Standardization (ISO) adopted BS 5750 as an international standard naming it ISO 9000 in 1989. 

Evolution of ISO 9000 Standard

The ISO 9000 Family

This consists of the standards which are associated with quality management;

ISO 9000:2015, QMS – Fundamentals and Vocabulary

ISO 9001:2015, QMS – Requirements

ISO 9004:2018, Quality management — Quality of an organization — Guidance to achieve sustained success

ISO 19011:2018, Guidelines for auditing management systems

Features of ISO 9000 Standards

  • They are based on Quality Management principles as the pillars 
  • Consistent in terminology
  • Emphasis on processes
  • Employs the QMS process model
  • Embraces the spirit of Continual Improvement
  • Focuses on customer satisfaction

The ISO 9000 Family Fame

  • The most commonly known and very successful series of standards. ISO 2019 survey; there are a total of 883 521valid certifications and 1 217 972 Active sites in the world.
  • Gaining wider interest in the management of public administrations
  • Represents an international consensus on good management practices
  • Is a tried and tested framework of managing your organization’s process

High-Level Structure for ISO 9001:2015 

  • Clause 1: Scope 0 –This clause gives details of the sector covered by the standard. It should not be confused with the scope of the organization that comes in clause 4
  • Clause 2: Normative references. This describes documents which are cited in the standard in such a way that some or all of their content constitutes requirements of the document
  • Clause 3: Terms and definitions – Gives reference to where to find the definitions of terminologies in a standard. 
  • Clause 4: Context of the organization – The requirements for the understanding context of the organization, stakeholders or interested parties, boundaries or scope of the organization with regards to QMS, mapping the needs and expectations of interested parties, detailing the processes in an organization and how they interact. 
  • Clause 5: Leadership – Gives guidance on leadership and commitment, customer focus, policy, organizational roles, responsibilities, and authorities. 
  • Clause6: Planning- This clause addresses 3 things; 1)actions to address risks and opportunities, 2) quality objectives and planning to achieve them, and 3) planning of changes. 
  • Clause 7: Support.- Requirements on resources, competence, awareness, communication, and documented information
  • Clause 8: Operation- this clause deals with the organization’s core functions. Operational planning and control, the requirements for products and services, design and development of products and services, control of externally provided processes, products and services, production and service provision, the release of products and services, and finally, Control of nonconforming outputs 
  • Clause 9: Performance evaluation- details on – monitoring, measurement, analysis, and evaluation, management review 
  • Clause10: Improvement; Nonconformity and corrective action and continual improvement

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.