The 9000 series of ISO standards

The 9000 series of ISO standards

The 9000 series of ISO standards

The ISO 9000 is a family of international standards that focuses on quality management. This ISO family can help companies to:

  • Satisfy their customers by ensuring goods and services comply with international standards
  • Meet regulatory and statutory requirements
  • Achieve continuous quality improvement

This series of standards isn’t specific to one industry and can be applied to organizations of all sizes.

What series of standards make up the ISO 9000 family?

As we mentioned earlier, ISO 9000 is a family of standards. Therefore, the following standards are part of this family:

  • ISO 9000:2015 – QMS – Fundamentals and Vocabulary. It acts as a primer so that everyone understands the same language. 
  • ISO 9001:2015- QMS – Requirements . This is considered the essential certification of the 9000 family. It details specific requirements that an organization must comply with to be deemed ISO 9001 certified.
  • ISO 9004:2018 Quality management — Quality of an organization — Guidance to achieve sustained success- This standard details the guidelines that an organization should follow to ensure longevity and success by continuously improving
  • ISO 19011:2018- Guidelines for auditing management systems – This standard gives s general guidelines for auditing different Management Systems including QMS.

It is essential to note that the only certifiable portion of the ISO 9000 family is ISO 9001.

A brief history of the 9000 series of standards

ISO 9000 was first published in 1987 by the International organization for standardization. The BS 5750 series from the British standards Institution (BSI) was used as a basis and proposed to ISO earlier in 1979. 

However, the series 9000 roots date back to world war II, when the Ministry of defense in Britain decided to create and implement a set of standards that would guide the production of munition. This was necessary, as mistakes and accidents had become the norm.

The standard created back then focused on managingthe procedure to ensure that the final product was standard, consistent, and safe to manufacture.

Revisions of ISO 9000 series

This ISO series has undergone several revisions throughout the years to keep it relevant and upto date.The following are some critical reviews:

  • The year 1994 review-This was the first review of the ISO 9000 series. It was done to clear up some 1987 version discrepancies and focus on quality assurance through preventative actions.
  • The year 2000 review introduced the idea of having a “documented system” instead of having a “system of documents.” This review created a way for the standard to meet system effectiveness through process performance measures.
  • The year 2008 review-This review was done to enable the standard to work together with other ISO management standard such as ISO 14001:2004.
  • The current standard is the ISO 9001:2015, which was completed towards the end of 2015. It managed to focus the whole documents around the concepts of risk management, risk-based thinking and leadership.It also updated its document format to a higher level, referred to as Annex SL .

The ISO 9000 series lays bare the advantages of subscribing to an ISO way of doing  business. Your customers will thank you for it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.